The Importance of an Audience

blog5.gif

Primary 7V always perform well in front of a live audience. Loads of examples such as this can be seen on our class blog.

Mrs H takes the class twice a week for French lessons …… Mrs H has also been my ‘sceptical friend’ during this dissertation journey. 

 ……… Not to be confused with my ‘critical friend’, Mrs P 🙂

Mrs H and I share many views on teaching, but she’s never quite got the ‘blogging thing’ …. until now. After her lesson with the class, I returned to find her very excited about our use of blogging. Yesterday, I asked her to jot down her thoughts – and she’s allowed me to share them here.

‘The children, at this time in P7’ had been rather lethargic about French in general. Discussion of a ‘cafe’ afternoon wasn’t met with too much enthusiasm. However, when filming conversations between waiters and customers, and adding these to their class blog was mentioned, the interest levels rose considerably. Suddenly the children were volunteering to pair up with a partner and try out phrases. They were checking with vocabulary jotters and with me to ensure accuracy and pronunciation.

The follow-up lession (the rehearsal) was a delight – total co-operation and effort. The children were highly motivated by the ‘real life’ context, but also because their performance would be viewed by others – in a very wide context. I will definately intoduce filming to a lot more French lessons!’  

I think I need a new ‘sceptical friend’ …….. 🙂

One thought on “The Importance of an Audience

  1. It’s great to hear stories like these – and that you are amplifying them. I’m bringing together as many of these as possible for a new ICT in Ed site this summer. Keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *