Our Class Move to Edublogs

[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.jumpcut.com/media/flash/jump.swf?id=EA8B6F9AFCC711DC9462000423CEF682&asset_type=movie&asset_id=EA8B6F9AFCC711DC9462000423CEF682&eb=1" width="306" height="243" wmode="transparent" /]

I made the decision to move from learnerblogs to edublogs. This decision was made because I want the children’s blogs to be safe, but I also want them to experience the freedom required to keep their ‘motivation to blog’ going ……. there are lots of discussions about this at the moment.

I copied the graphic below from the newly published Byron Report

byron3.jpg

Lots of mixed messages 🙂

We had some time in the computer room today (20 mins before P.E.). In that time, the children were able to activate the ‘Akismet Key’ to help prevent spam comments on their individual blogs.

This was very simple to do. I had already activated the Akismet Key in the class blog by setting up a WordPress blog.

I’ve now learned that the same ‘key’ can be used over and over again to protect the children’s own blogs from spam comments …. a great discovery for a ‘non-techy’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *