Ready For Week 2!

It was a busy week last week, but I think that things are set to become even more busy in the near future. The first ICT Support Team meeting of the session takes place tomorrow at 9 am. We’ll be joined at 11 am by the ICT Support Engineers. The agenda has been emailed to all concerned. I have some general ideas about the Falkirk VTC site. I’ll bring these up at the meeting tomorrow – more on that later.

Later in the day, I’ll be paying a visit to Cassie at Carronshore Primary … it’ll be nice to catch up with all the staff there, too:) I’ve arranged the visit because Cassie has been asked if her class will interview representatives from a new Asda store due to open up nearby soon. The interview is set for Thursday. Primary 7V interviewed a variety of visitors and the technique of asking good questions was stressed(brainstorming open-ended questions, role-play in small groups, feedback of findings, etc.)

When it comes to the actual interview, there’s decisions to make about what format it should take. It may be a simple podcast using Audacity to convert to an mp3 file, a video can be created using a digital video camera … or it may be that some children take photographs of the event while others conduct the interview using an mp3 recording device. (i’ve just received an email from the people at Animoto to say that I’ve been successful in my Animoto For Education application – this might be the ideal choice!)

I suppose the strangest thing about my new post is not having a class to test out all the new cool web 2.0 tools that keep popping up. Go Animate has been discussed a few times in the scodedublogs feed. Malcolm (one of my new colleagues) and I looked at it on Friday and were both suitably impressed. It was agreed that later on in the session a ‘special events’ evening should be arranged to showcase the potential some of these tools have for improving learning and teaching ……  but what we needed was a teacher with a class to try one out. I contacted Cassie when I returned home from work and she is more than happy to try out Go Animate with her class and has agreed to share her experience of using it by coming along to the special events evening to reveal any improvements made to literacy as a result.

I really didn’t mean to leave it so long before writing this 2nd ‘new job’ post – hopefully, I’ll get more organised soon 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Ready For Week 2!

  1. You’re ICT genius appears to be rubbing off on me, well a bit anyway! Gpt a forum up and running on my blog and I’ve added on to the class blog but I haven’t started it yet.

    I’m away to look into the Falkirk VTC thing you talked about.

  2. Great! …. But I think you’re the genius:)

    Have you seen my new Simpson’s figure in my sidebar? – thanks to John from Sandaig primary.

    Remind me to show you his great idea for ‘getting to know us’ class poems – check them out on his class blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *