Pupil Glow Blog Creation – Step by Step

There has been a bit of a discussion on here recently about the setting up of pupil Glow Blogs and I was a bit surprised to read this comment from John (I’ve linked to his twitter profile, as his blog http://johnjohnston.info/blog seems to be ‘broken’ at the moment?).

John wrote:

As far as I know pupils can’t set up public facing blogs. So they can only set up private or glow only blogs.
” Public (Note: Can only be selected by Staff, Site Collection Administrator and Administrator.)”
A workaround is to get the children to create blogs (They need to have been given permission by ASM), and send you the url to their my glow. Then logged in as SCA you manage the blog and set to public. You could set up a links webpart in a class glow group where the children could add their urls. Using SCA account is necessary as your account can’t access children’s my glow, unless SCA gives permission. Children can’t manage members of own glow.

This is just a very qiuick post to show the steps I took to set up the pupil blogs for my own class. I was logged in as them, but there’s no reason why children can’t do this themselves. They were able to add me (class teacher, I’m not the SCA or ASM) to their ‘My Glow’. I’m not sure why John thinks this isn’t an option for them …maybe it’s the way the Glow Blogs have been set up in our Authority that makes this possible here?

Anyway, here’s how I did it (as a pupil).

7 thoughts on “Pupil Glow Blog Creation – Step by Step

  1. I think you might be right Margaret when you say ‘maybe it’s the way the Glow Blogs have been set up in our Authority that makes this possible ‘ as I know that, in my authority, pupils don’t have the right to add me or anyone to their My Glow as I tried this last year for another reason.
    Thanks for taking the time to put this up. It will be useful but it worries me that there is so much confusion amongst professionals with huge expertise in ICT!

  2. Hi Shirley

    The way Margaret describes how a pupil adds another user (their teacher or fellow pupils) to their My Glow works for every LA the way Margaret describes.

    We are working with schools at the moment to set up class and individual blogs and will be adding these example to the cookbooks shortly.

    Alan

    • That will be great Alan as the easier it is for most teachers the better. However I know that the pupils in my class definitely could not add anyone to their My Glow as I tried to teach them that as a skill about a year ago and the advice at the time was that it was not possible!
      Maybe this facility has been added?

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Learning, Teaching and ICT » Pupil Glow Blog Creation – Step by Step -- Topsy.com

  4. Pupils cannot do this in the same way that we can (by clicking members and then searching the national directory). This was possible but then changed by request of HMIe as they felt it was not appropriate for pupils (or parents) to have access to the directory. A pupil would need to know the username of the person they were adding to a group, such as My Glow, that they are Admin of.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *